Mixed Music Bag 2024 – week 21 – Icehouse

As we are still in June the MMB theme is still to find a group or solo singer whose name begins with I or J

Great Southern Land” is a song by Australian rock band Icehouse. It was released on 9 August 1982 as the lead single from their second studio album Primitive Man. It peaked at No. 5 on the Australian Singles Chart but only made No. 83 in the UK charts. It was later featured in the 1988 film Young Einstein. Their follow-up single “Hey Little Girl” was more well-known and made the UK Top Twenty in the same year.

Written by Iva Davies (lyrics in video)

18 thoughts on “Mixed Music Bag 2024 – week 21 – Icehouse

  1. There can’t be more than five different notes in this whole song, yet it was deeply powerful and rocking with an intense bass and drumbeat that did not stop. The visual beauty goes without saying; it was the story behind the start of Australia that truly grabbed me. This is a place I have never been to but always wanted to visit (and I have family there). Sadly, Bill and I can’t even get excited about a trip into Manhattan these day! 😂 Thanks for sharing this new song with me/us; I enjoyed it immensely!

    Here’s what I featured: https://theelephantstrunk.org/2024/05/22/the-iron-age/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve heard this song off of the blogs somewhere… a good one. I like those Australian bands from this period….I’ve listened to some of the alternative ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I secretly had thang for this band. Electric Blue was my jam. I can’t explain it now nor could I back then. I’m thinking there was another popular track. I can’t think of it. I remember buying the album Man of Colours, I think or something like that. I had no idea they were Australian. I remember this cut. I didn’t know who sang it. I never made the connection until this post. Great post, Glyn.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment